UCI Technical Info

UCI Gravel World Series Events
The UCI Gravel World Series is composed of individual cycling for all gravel cycling competitions. A UCI Gravel World Series event is a competitive mass participation event with a mass start (or in waves with intervals between the start groups) which is fully timed for all participants and splits results per age group and gender. The riders have to respect road traffic regulations at all times. The UCI Gravel World Championships is the last event of the series, open to riders qualified through the series.  List of World Championship locations through 2027 - https://ucigravelworldseries.com/en/world-championships/

Participation Rights

  • Licenses - No license is required
    • Exception of:
      • Any rider who has during the current year been a member of a team registered with the UCI.
      • Any rider who has taken part in a World Championships, the Olympic Games, Continental Games, Regional Games, the Commonwealth Games, or a World Cup during the current year
      • Any rider who has scored UCI points in the year of the World Championships
    • Note: Riders qualified for the UCI Gravel World Championships, must hold a valid license issued by their respective national federation (day licenses being excluded), must hold a UCI ID and must be adequately insured against accidents and civil responsibility in the country in which the UCI Gravel World Championships are held.
  • Bikes - Riders may use any type of bike (road bike, mountain bike, city bike, hybrid bike, cross bike, etc.) with the exception of tandem, recumbent bikes or time trial road bikes which are forbidden. Of Note - the UCI Gravel World Championships will have additional restrictions and riders should check WCC site for further restrictions and requirements.
  • Age groups - Both women and men:
    • Overall Men (recognition and white championship jersey - see below)
    • Overall Women (recognition and white championship jersey- see below)
    • 14 - 18 (this category is NOT a qualifying category)
    • 19 – 34
    • 35 – 39
    • 40 – 44
    • 45 – 49
    • 50 – 54
    • 55 – 59
    • 60 – 64
    • 65 – 69
    • 70 – 74
    • 75 – 79
    • Etc. (any further 5-year category for which riders have entered)
  • Age Calculation - Groups applicable to the UCI Gravel World Series are defined by the rider’s age on December 31st of the year of the qualifier event. Riders who qualify past the World Championships for next year’s World Championships and change age group in the following year will automatically take their qualification to the next age group so don’t need to qualify again in their new age group in the year of the World Championships.
  • Awards - as per the regulations applied for the UCI Gravel World Championships, medals and titles will be awarded for men and/or women as soon as 1 rider is registered in the respective 5-year age category.

Qualification for the UCI Gravel World Championships:
As per the official qualification system for the 2023 UCI Gravel World Championships, each TREK UCI Gravel World Series event grants qualification rights for the UCI Gravel World Championships for those riders finishing in the first 25% of their age group. The 25% is calculated based on the number of starters in each age group, and not on the number of riders having finished the race. Qualification is always per age group and based on age group results, not on overall results. In addition, the first three riders of each official age category will qualify directly for the World Championships, independently of the number of starters in that age group.  Riders must finish the race to gain qualification.

If you continue to use this site, you consent to use all cookies. We use cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. Read how we use cookies and how you can control them by visiting our Privacy Policy.

If you continue to use this site, you consent to use all cookies.